Another Reason An Empty Nest is Good

20 Jan

I never took a lot of vacations without my kids when my kids were little. I was one of those neurotic moms who was sure their kids would fall apart or worse should I be so selfish.

Both of our kids grandmother’s were on the older range of grandparents. OK, I did ask my mother to babysit and to my surprise she said “No thanks”. She loved her grandkids but didn’t want to have to run them around and take care of them overnight. Seriously, it was a lot of work!

So now as I readily pack up and go off on trips, I now appreciate the empty nest. It has taken me over a year to settle into appreciating the next phase of life. I’m a slow learner. I still miss the everyday moments of just being with my kids – although perhaps my oldest son’s boomerang back to home for his senior year helps. It helps to see your kids enjoying their independent lives. Let me revise – partially independent. We still foot the bills!

But I like the freedom that has arrived with an empty nest. It has taken a while to not focus on the empty part, but now I am seeing life beyond the nest. I have strangers, friends and acquaintances asking how long does it take to adjust – for me 18 months. For my neighbor – 1 day.

I have some catching up to do…….

On vacation in Steamboat Springs!

4 Responses to “Another Reason An Empty Nest is Good”

  1. Tita January 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Carolyn, I just love your blogs. My sentiments exactly!! Hope you have a wonderful vacation at such a beautiful place.

    • refeatheringthenest January 22, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Thank you Tita! I really miss you, hope to make a trip to Cali, but possibly not til March.

  2. cheaperthantherapy2lisa January 22, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    My husband and I are going to Italy soon, and though we’re going to visit our son (who’s currently studying there), we are going as a couple. Our time with him will be limited. As for our daughter, she’s not going because since she’s 24 she has her own responsibilities (helloooo, adulthood!). I’m going to like this trip! Nice blog.

Leave a Reply

