The Yin and Yang of Animals

14 Dec

My Christmas tree is up and decorated…..sort of. The bottom 3-4 feet of the tree contains no ornaments.
No I don’t have any young children. I’m the emptynester trying to refeather my nest.
What I have are dogs. But my love and hate of the animals begins with 1 dog.
She was the runt of the litter. She was free…….sort of…..
Beyond dog food and routine vet bills, she has consumed:
Several rugs – which have caused her stomach and bowels many issues solved by the vet.
3 dog beds – in one evening! The result being a stuck zipper in her intestine which for $4000 we had removed.
The low voltage lighting illuminating our curvy driveway. And the fixtures too. Yes, I’m sure she did get shocked.
Numerous parts of the sprinkler system.
And…..yes Christmas ornaments – hence the questionable beauty of our tree.

No matter how many chew toys we make sure surround her at all times, no matter how many walks, rub downs, ear scratches. She is a chewing lab. I love her but there are moments…..

But I have noticed this yin yang extends to other animals as well.
Bunnies abound in our backyard. They munch my flowers and my grass down to nubbins. Yet – I noticed a bunny sitting in the snow in a tight ball. His face was in front of a pipe which runs between our house and covered porch under the patio drain. Warm air must somehow come out of that pipe. It just looked so sweet sitting in the snow trying to stay warm.
I tossed a carrot and lettuce out the window for the rabbit. Come spring I will be cursing that rabbit and its many descendants, but for now………just as I love my munching pooch……

2 Responses to “The Yin and Yang of Animals”

  1. M January 11, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Those dogs are really cute!

    • refeatheringthenest January 13, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Cute and amazing shedders. It is too bad there isn’t a market for dog hair sweaters.

Leave a Reply

