You can’t have a future without a past…..

27 Jan

As I continue to organize and purge the contents of my home………(I will not be a candidate for Clean Sweep) I found my kindergarten assessment.  “Has an overactive imagination” is the comment my teacher filled in. “Eager to Please”  Yes, those probably still hold true. Now I can explain to my son why I panicked every time he was late coming home, up a winding dirt mountain road, as a raging blizzard reduced visibility with elk and deer constantly meandered across the road…… Yes that teacher knew what she was talking about!!

But for those of you who are candidates for Clean Sweep…..http://tlc.discovery.com/fansites/cleansweep/geton/geton.html

or Style’s Clean House: http://www.mystyle.com/mystyle/shows/cleanhouse/index.jsp

C’mon you have to love the before and after. And, don’t you feel secretly relieved no matter how messy your home can get, it cannot match the rooms of these people.  Even with 3 kids on my worst day, it couldn’t match their piles and piles of “stuff”.

One of the advanatges of an empty nest, is finally having time to clean out and organize all those boxes of “things” you have in the attic or basement or garage.  Mine is the basement, and I must admit, I am having a ball.  I love to clean and organize (yes, some people have suggested it is a sickness) I could easily be a home organizer for a living. I love to purge and organize other people’s spaces.  But, overall I think this  career choice lacks the creativity I want and need.

And another advantage and disadvantage of an empty nest is I have time to get distracted by the internet. When I googled cleansweep – I meant the TLC show. But I found this too:

http://www.betterme.org/cleansweep.html

Check it out:

Are you ready to clean up your life?

The Clean Sweep Program is a checklist of 100 items which, when completed, give one complete personal freedom. These 100 items are grouped in 4 areas of life with 25 in each group: Physical Environment, Well-being, Money and Relationships. These 4 areas are the cornerstone for a strong and healthy life and the program helps a person to clean up, restore and polish virtually every aspect of his/her life. The program takes between 6 – 24 months to complete.

YIKES! That is too much pressure. But please, feel free to check it out, let me know how you do on their assessment. For now, I am sticking with my kindergarten teacher.

Leave a Reply

