I can waste a day……

18 Jan

After being a stay at home mom (mostly) for over 20 years,  my daily schedule has always been dictated by my kids schedules. Between sports, projects and keeping a family of 5 fed  and their clothing cleaned, my schedule has been filled and overflowing. So, today, with an empty house I found myself sitting on my daughter’s bed in her room totally void of her. I don’t do pathetic. So I checked emails, facebook, Twitter – wow pioneer women must have really felt empty nest without social networking, and it did absolutely nothing for me. I took a nap today (Yikes!) I tried the treadmill for over 30 minutes on an incline. Nothing. I mean I feel zipped zapped and as big a loser as all those crazy websites I have read.

I guess the key to not pulling the blankets over my head, is to create a schedule. This is the time I really envy women that stayed in the workforce after they had kids. They have jobs to go to everyday. Their lives are not ripped from them when their kids leave.  I am sure they feel empty nest but it has to feel less of a dark hole than the role of a stay at home mom. Now, I know why my friends were joining tennis leagues and golf leagues. But, I don’t want to do those things. I really don’t want to be a lady of leisure and fill my days with luncheons and manicures. Although come to think of it  – I could use a pedi/mani!

I once had an acquaintance  who would nap until noonish, wake up and watch The Young and the Restless, and then go shopping the rest of the day.  I thought it was sad.

I feel the need to purge the basement storage closet!  It may not be a career but it is better than eating the contents of the pantry!

One Response to “I can waste a day……”

  1. littleolme January 19, 2010 at 3:27 am #

    Funny! When the kids were little and I never had any time for myself, I used to envy my two neighbors – one a single guy who seemed to do nothing but go to work and come home, and the other an older lady who had raised her kids and finally had time to do what SHE wanted to do. I remember thinking that they could eat WHAT they wanted, WHEN they wanted, WHERE they wanted, and they didn’t have to set an example for anyone. They weren’t accountable to anyone (except at work of course) and could set their own schedule, read when they wanted, and weren’t interrupted while in the bathroom. Oh, that seemed like heaven to me. But the other night, I was home alone (daughter went to a sleepover) and then I COULD do what I wanted, when I wanted. I could read for hours and not be interrupted. I could even sit in the bathroom and read and NO ONE was going to come knocking on the door, needing something to eat or drink, or help with homework, or a kiss and a hug, or anything. And you know what? It wasn’t nearly as much fun as I thought it was going to be. In fact, it was kind of lonely. At least you make good, healthy use of your time, running on the treadmill, cleaning out closets, staying in touch with friends, etc. Seems like I just read in the bathroom! There is definitely something wrong about that.

Leave a Reply

