The end and the beginning.

8 Jan

I am not really a public person. I don’t talk a lot, I don’t talk about my private life or my hopes and dreams.  I have always talked about my kids and their lives and hopes and dreams. Now I turn around and they have all moved out of the nest. They are outta here!

Perhaps if they had tested and pushed the limits a bit more, knocked holes in the walls, wrecked cars (o.k. child # 1 stuck a toe across the line more than a time or two) I would have been excited. You know – don’t let the swinging door hit you where the good Lord split you……..but apparently they weren’t rotten enough, as I find myself totally adrift.

My first thought was to come out swinging, grabbing the ring for myself, finding who I am without kids, yada yada yada. Instead I packed on an immediate 12 lbs. WTF? Really? I have always been thin and suddenly? Yes, it was Christmas but really? (Hey – see if you could resist Trader Joe’s Peppermint Chocolate covered Jo Jo’s – evidentally I am not alone in this as they sold out of them mid December – Thankfully)

I suppose it gives me something to focus on. It gives me step 1 – lose that weight – get into shape. I’m not new at exercise – I’m not a Biggest Loser Candidate. But, in my late 40’s I will have to step up the game. So far, this week, everyday on the treadmill along with weights. Tomorrow skiing.  Its good to have a distraction

I need to be distracted! A couple of days ago at the grocery store? Saw a woman with a precious baby girl all swaddled in pink. Wouldn’t have been too bad except two boys suddenly appeared at her side. I saw what I had lost. And lost it. I knew I should have had a grocery list. UGH!

1. lose those 12 lbs.  2. Find a job,purpose,career – chase a dream

2 Responses to “The end and the beginning.”

  1. idriveskj January 8, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    I am so proud of you! You know I love you – the best is ahead of us, not behind!!

  2. refeatheringthenest January 9, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    I hope you are right !

Leave a Reply

